Import Export Code License Number

Following are the services provided :

  1. Issuance of Importer Exporter Code (IEC): IEC is a mandatory code required by individuals or businesses to engage in import or export activities.

  2. Advance Authorization Scheme: This scheme allows exporters to import inputs required for the production of export goods without payment of customs duty.

  3. Export Promotion Capital Goods (EPCG) Scheme: This scheme enables the import of capital goods at concessional or zero customs duty for the purpose of enhancing export production.

  4. Merchandise Exports from India Scheme (MEIS): MEIS provides incentives to exporters in the form of duty credit scrips based on the export of specified goods to certain markets.

  5. Services Exports from India Scheme (SEIS): SEIS offers incentives to service providers for specific export of services.

  6. Duty Drawback Scheme: Under this scheme, exporters can claim a refund of customs duties paid on imported inputs used in the production of exported goods.

  7. Export Oriented Unit (EOU) Scheme: This scheme allows the setting up of export-oriented manufacturing and trading units with various benefits and exemptions.

  8. Special Economic Zone (SEZ) Scheme: DGFT facilitates the setting up of SEZs, which are designated areas that offer special incentives to boost exports and economic growth.

  9. Export of Restricted Items: DGFT issues licenses for the export of goods that are subject to certain restrictions or require special authorization.

  10. Import of Restricted Items: Similarly, DGFT also issues licenses for the import of goods that are subject to specific restrictions.

  11. Trade Agreements and Preferential Tariff Schemes: DGFT plays a role in negotiating and implementing trade agreements and preferential tariff schemes with various countries and trading blocs.

  12. Trade Data and Policy Information: DGFT provides information and data related to foreign trade policies, procedures, and trends to exporters, importers, and the general public.

  13. Trade Facilitation and Grievance Redressal: DGFT aims to simplify and streamline trade procedures and addresses grievances related to foreign trade.

  14. Online Application and Monitoring: Many of the services provided by DGFT can be accessed and processed through their online portal.

Sure, here are some FAQs about the Importer-Exporter Code (IEC), DGFT services, and import/export regulations:

What is an IEC?

The Importer-Exporter Code (IEC) is a 10-digit alphanumeric code that is mandatory for all entities involved in import or export activities in India. It is issued by the Directorate General of Foreign Trade (DGFT), which is a government agency under the Ministry of Commerce and Industry.

Why do I need an IEC?

You need an IEC if you want to import or export goods or services from India. It is a requirement under the Foreign Trade Policy of India. The IEC also allows you to take advantage of various benefits and schemes offered by the government, such as duty drawback, export incentives, and market access.

How do I apply for an IEC?

You can apply for an IEC online through the DGFT website. The application process is simple and straightforward. You will need to provide some basic information about your business, such as your PAN number, bank account details, and address. You will also need to upload a scanned copy of your digital signature.

How long does it take to get an IEC?

The processing time for an IEC application is typically 3-5 working days. However, it may take longer if your application is incomplete or if there are any errors.

What are the benefits of having an IEC?

There are many benefits to having an IEC, including:

  • It allows you to import and export goods and services from India.
  • It allows you to take advantage of various benefits and schemes offered by the government.
  • It gives you a unique business identification number that can be used for trade-related transactions.
  • It helps to improve your credibility and trustworthiness with foreign buyers and suppliers.

What are the DGFT services?

The DGFT provides a wide range of services to exporters and importers, including:

  • Issuing IECs
  • Granting import and export licenses
  • Administering the Foreign Trade Policy
  • Providing trade-related information and advice
  • Facilitating trade between India and other countries

What are the import/export regulations in India?

The import/export regulations in India are governed by the Foreign Trade Policy of India. The policy sets out the rules and procedures for importing and exporting goods and services. It also specifies the goods and services that are subject to import or export restrictions.

Where can I find more information about IECs, DGFT services, and import/export regulations?

You can find more information about IECs, DGFT services, and import/export regulations on the DGFT website:

Various searches for Import Export goods from India

Import Keywords:

  1. Customs Duties/Tariffs: Taxes imposed on imported goods.
  2. Import License/Permit: Authorization required to import certain goods.
  3. Customs Clearance: The process of getting imported goods through customs.
  4. Bill of Entry: Document declaring details of imported goods.
  5. Import Declaration: Formal statement submitted to customs regarding imported goods.
  6. Landed Cost: Total cost of imported goods, including purchase price, freight, and duties.
  7. Import Quotas: Limits on the quantity of certain goods that can be imported.
  8. Anti-Dumping Duty: Tariff imposed to prevent dumping of goods below fair market value.
  9. Certificate of Origin: Document proving the origin of imported goods.
  10. VAT/GST: Value-added tax or goods and services tax applicable to imports.

Export Keywords:

  1. Export License/Permit: Authorization required to export certain goods.
  2. Export Declaration: Formal statement submitted for exporting goods.
  3. Certificate of Origin: Document proving the origin of exported goods.
  4. Export Documentation: Various paperwork required for exporting goods.
  5. Freight Forwarder: Company arranging transportation of goods for export.
  6. Export Compliance: Adherence to regulations when exporting goods.
  7. Incoterms: International commercial terms defining responsibilities in shipping contracts.
  8. Export Subsidies: Financial incentives provided to promote exports.
  9. Export Credit Insurance: Insurance covering risk of non-payment from foreign buyers.
  10. Export Quotas: Limits on the quantity of certain goods that can be exported.

List of major countries to export goods and services

  1. China
  2. United States
  3. Germany
  4. Japan
  5. South Korea
  6. Netherlands
  7. France
  8. Italy
  9. United Kingdom
  10. Canada
  11. Mexico
  12. India
  13. Singapore
  14. Taiwan
  15. Brazil
  16. Australia
  17. Saudi Arabia
  18. Russia
  19. United Arab Emirates
  20. Vietnam

Related links





 Tier 3 countries list  It's important to note that the concept of "tier 3 countries" isn't a standard classification in g...